Ra One

“The most expensive mid-life crisis of  KIng Khan”
“Atrocious movie! Don’t even go there!”
“The most confused movie ever!”
This is all I’ve been hearing about Ra-One since its release.
Still curious, I booked tickets for the earliest available show. 11.30 am on a Tuesday. I dragged two of my equally curious friends to bunk work & come with me.
Don’t know if the Gods didn’t approve, but the sky darkened with rain clouds when I was just about to leave. I drove on in a snail’s pace in the heavy traffic.
At 11.15, I was still about 4 kms from the theatre. To take my mind off the the tension, I looked out of the window, drumming my fingers on the steering wheel.
A lungi-clad man was cajoling a lady in the platform. She pushed him away. he said something to her. Next second, she was beating her chest and bawling. In a trice, she was prone on the platform, rolling around, still beating her chest.

By the time I could make any sense of the scene I had to move on.

And then the rain came in torrents.

I couldn’t see what was in front of my car. Purely by intuition, I managed to reach the multiplex at 11.30. Panic-stricken I called my friends. They were still on their way, stuck in traffic at various parts of the city. After assuring them that I’ll come to the entrance to get them, I ran in with my tickets, umbrella & a soggy hand bag. Found my seat & settled down. Thank God, the movie had not started.

Anyway, once the movie started, all the comments in the beginning of this blog started coming to me in bits & pieces.

By then, my friends had joined me too & all three of us watched in horror as Shah Rukh Khan ate noodles with curds. With his hands. And spoke such terrible Tamil. (I’ve known white skins speak much better Tamil than that!)

What was he thinking? And as if he suddenly realised he’s offended the most seedha saadha of clans, he had to rope in Rajnikanth, just to stand around, so Kareena can worship him.

Come on! We’re not THAT stupid!

Anyway, while we got over all this & was seriously contemplating going back to work, it got funny. Not intentionally though. We just had to sit around to watch where this was going.

The villain from the game Shah Rukh designed comes alive! Ooh! Scary! He wants to kill Shah Rukh’s son! (Someone please give that boy a haircut!)

Shah Rukh dies valiantly, while saving his son.

And after a mad chase around London, which involves crashing into buses, toppling of cars in slow-mo & many such scenes, the villain corners Kareena & bad haired boy.

And guess who comes to the rescue?

G- One the hero from the game. Of course that’s played by Shah Rukh too.

The story gets crazier and crazier after that.

In a nutshell, after a few scenes of karva chauth, bithday parites, songs, dance & more fights later,  good triumphs over evil.

But I must admit, despite all the flaws in the story, this film is technically brilliant. Very slick & the special effects are stunning.

The songs are good too.

Watch it if:

1. You’re a die-hard Shah Rukh fan.

2. If you’re a naive 7 year old who loves video games.

3. If you desperately need something nonsensical to distract you from your woes.

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    November 5, 2011 at 1:24 am

    HI
    You are too negative, can only imagine your review on other movies. Typical Indians need to move away from the traditional Indian movies of girls and boys dancing around trees and get with the program. You gotta get an imagination as well. This movie allows you to think like a 7 year old, it doesnt tell you, you are one. You need to have a 360 deg viewpoint, currently your criticism isnt constructive, but destructive. I wonder whether you look at all aspects as half empty, you need to see the glass half full.
    Anon

    it’s just my humble opinion, anon! i’m a die-hard srk fan, but i had to point out somethings that didn’t go down well with me…

  2. kusublakki said,

    November 6, 2011 at 1:23 am

    Nice to finally read a positive review of the movie 🙂 Being a huge fan of King Khan, I’ve still not been able to watch the movie. Hope to catch it soon!

    hehe.. do watch it!

  3. saritha said,

    November 8, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Padmaja – I can see why the woman on the pavement was beating her chest! 😉 Jokes apart, I’m quite the SRK fan myself, but I don’t HAVE to love all his films. I didn’t see this one, because it just seemed too much of an effort at the moment.

    And Anon – I don’t think this is about being positive or negative. It’s not as if traditional Indian movies of girls and boys dancing around trees are the only other alternatives. I think if a story is well told, it connects with the target audience.

    Maybe Padmaja (and many others) are simply not the target audience for this movie. Or perhaps the story telling simply missed the mark.

    🙂 True, saritha! But I just had to watch the movie once! Let’s hope Don2 will be good!

  4. p.gokulakrishnan said,

    November 9, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    hi,
    thanks for your candid feed back. I thought of taking my kids to the

    screen but now i will wait for few more days… anyway king khan will sell

    the rights to any 1 of the channels.

    One side we are having these kind of mega budget films & other side

    of the coin we have good directors with shoe string budget giving good

    movies.

    gokul

    you’re welcome! please don’t take kids to this movie! there are a few scenes that’ll make you squirm!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

