Endhiran- Movie Review

A few years ago, I had been to a wedding in a popular hotel in the city.  The adjacent banquet hall was also hosting a wedding. But the difference was, the bride was an actor’s daughter.

Not surprisingly, the hotel was packed with fans from the gates almost till the banquet hall, eagerly awaiting their favourite stars’ entries. Every single one of them was armed with their mobile phones, aimed and ready to capture their demi gods.

I had to go down a spiral stair-case to reach my destination. Holding on to my sari dearly, clutching the gift in one hand and making sure my two and a half feet son was holding on to his dad and not  getting stamped upon by eager fans, I went down the steps rather nervously. When I was mid-way, all the cameras started clicking violently and  there was a major commotion. It was all a flurry of  flashes and people brushing past me up the stairs and excited screams of people. As I neared the lower level I saw our own T.R. waving to his fans both sides and climbing up the stairs in style.

Later, on the way back home I shared my amazement with my husband, about how T.R. was still so popular.

“The crowd just went wild, didn’t they?” I asked him. “There was total madness and people literally pushed me off the stairs to get a glimpse of him!”

I lurched forward as he screeched on the brakes. “Get off my car. Take an auto!” he said in an even voice.

“What? Why???” I looked at him in confusion.

“You thought the fans went mad like that for TR? Didn’t you see Rajnikanth coming up the stairs? He brushed against you, for heaven’s sake!”

“WHAT????” I squealed.

“Yes! And he was right there wearing a white kurta, inches away from you, blind bat!”

All I remembered was a flurry of white and lots of men running up.

How did I miss him, I wondered in amazement.

*********

Seeing Endhiran took me back to that day.

Rajnikanth is not  numero uno for nothing. He makes no bones about his age. He’s definitely not handsome in the conventional way.

But his energy and screen presence more than make up for any lack.

My son is not very comfortable watching movies in the theatre. At 6, he’s still terrified of the noise. Last time, after barely settling down in my seat, I had to carry him home sobbing because he was terrified of Nazar’s introductory scene in a movie, thanks to the dramatic (and ear-shattering) music and  wide-angle, tight close-ups!

He came along this time because he’s older now and he’d seen the trailers and loved the fighting.

After 10 minutes into the movie, he turned to me and broke the awed silence in the theatre by asking me rather  loudly, ‘Amma! who is Rajnikanth?” Terrified I may get lynched, I whispered, “Sh… You just saw him. He’s the scientist…”

The three hours we spent in the theatre was gripping to say the least. From the beginning to end there was no slack in the story.  I’m not getting into the story because its been too widely written about.

The movie is illogical in a few places (like how can a machine fall in love??? puleaaase!) but thoroughly entertaining. Every scene is a visual treat.

I’d read reviews about Ash looking really aged in Raavan, but here she was as glamorous as ever and what clothes!

The songs are nothing to write home about (not one is hummable or memorable) but the picturisation and the locations literally took my breath away! Wow!

On the whole it is a must-watch for Rajni fans. And I suppose this is the second film Shankar has actually moved from his oft -repeated Robinhood theme. (Jeans being the first)

The special effects are mind-blowing. Truly international. Danny is uber-cool. And Sujatha’s dialogues are brilliant.

But  I feel the comedy track doesn’t really gel.

My son jumped on to my lap when Danny’s robot tried to kill him. He started screaming “This is scary, Amma! Take me home!! Now!”

When I tried to calm him down and told him I wanted to see the movie, he screamed even louder “You can see it on TV! It’ll come on POGO! Please, Amma!”

A bribe of more Pepsi worked wonders(I know, I know, I’m a bad mother. But what to do? I had no intention walking away from the movie half way through) and in the climax scene, even he was glued to the screen. “Amma, this is so awesome!” he said, wonder-struck as all the Rajni robots joined together in magnificent formations. The snake particularly was big hit with him.

Oh I just loved the evil Rajni! What style! What elan! Nobody could have done this role but him. I couldn’t help clapping and screaming to his manic laughter, much to my son’s disgust.

The climax and the ending were just brilliant. Like I said, the movie did not slack even a bit.

If I ever see him in person again, I may just fall at his feet and yell, “Thalaivaa!!!! Konnutteenga!!

10 Comments

  1. Praveen said,

    October 4, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Thalaivaa!!! rendu kannu pathaathu!!
    I watched it again!!!!!!! 🙂

    you did???!!! 😀

  2. mahes said,

    October 5, 2010 at 4:01 am

    LOL at Thailaiva Konnuteenga! I saw it y’day and loved it. Awesome movie!

    oh yes, it is! 🙂

  3. anush said,

    October 5, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I’m going to be a pooper here. I went for the late show. I just couldn’t keep my eyes open after the interval. No stunt or noise cld keep me up! I woke up startled by my own snoring only to find a hundred heads turning 360 deg. I think, at that time I thought it was a nightmare or my own head was spinning. Went back to deep sleep and last thing I hear… Srikanth waking me up to say the movie was over! I agree with the part that Ash looked gorgeous. I loved the dance & song choreography and the exotic locales! On afterthought Kamal Hassan the original hero for this movie wld have kept me up!

    hmmm…. i used to be a hardcore kamal fan myself. but dasavatharam killed it for me! i feel he’s sooo full of himself that his ego totally overshadows his performance. on the other hand, rajni is so down to earth and delivers exactly what he promises.. anyways that’s my humble opinion! 😀

    • anush said,

      October 6, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      I quite agree with that. That’s one reason why kamal ended up producing his own movies!

      • Praveen said,

        October 6, 2010 at 11:04 pm

        me too!
        I katchi maarified from kamal’s to rajini’s!

  4. Saritha said,

    October 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    I have the hots for a renegade robot called Chitti Version 2.0. Vasi was a wimp and a coward in comparison.

    me too! 😉

  5. Shanti said,

    October 6, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Your review makes me want to see the movie 😦 Sadly cant with the little one.. Hope the Hindi version comes soon in Tatasky..

    Ya, let me know too!! 🙂

  6. Praveen said,

    October 7, 2010 at 11:56 am

    The second time I was payin keen attention to the background score (esp from when Aish is held captive) not bad, with the trumpet blowing et all.

    My guggu North indian friends could not connect to the Villain Chitti to his old films, but they were facinated in the scene where he pokes a sword into one andriod and looks at Aish and declares ROBO…awesome that was!!!

    I am going overboard with Rajini mania now! 😐

    hehe.. but i/m upset our good old rangan has boo-ed the movie quite a bit.. 😦 thanx for the link!

  7. Praveen said,

    October 7, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I am ready to overlook all the loopholes just for 1 man!

  8. October 23, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I watched a Rajni movie in a theatre after so many years, and really enjoyed it, especially the villain robot…finally Rajni got a chance to do a negative role again! Agree with “Thalaiva Konnutteenga”!!

    i may go for it again! 🙂


Leave a Reply

