The man-child

I had a particularly harrowing evening with my son. Right from when I picked him up from school, it was rebellion, blame-games & tantrums till bed time.

First I was ‘bad’ because I didn’t bring him a treat to eat on the way home. Then it was open rebellion to eat the snack I gave him at home.Ā  Then it was a battle to get him to drink his milk…

Every half hour he’d break down, sobbing or screaming, sorry,Ā  screeching at me for the smallest of reasons.

I had a bit of peace when the TV was on. But when I switched it off at dinner time, it was full-fledged war again.

I held on to my patience with gritted teeth all the time. But now my pent-up temper threatened to erupt in all its glory.

“I have to watch my program!” He screamed.

“You have to heat your dinner.” I insisted.

“No!” He burst into tears.

“Yes!” I raised my voice.

“I hate you!” He screeched and ran to his room and banged the door shut.

I was so close to losing my cool, but held on.

Seething inside, IĀ  took his dinner to his room.

I sat next to him and fed him while he watched his program.

It took him a good ten minutes to realise that I was extremely angry…

He tried making small talk during the commercial breaks. But I was stern.

Later when I was getting him to sleep, he asked for a story.

“No story today.” I told him. “I just want you to lie down quietly and think about what you did today. From when I picked you up from school till now. I want you think about how you’ve treated your mother and whether it is right on your part.”

With that I switched off the light and lay down next to him.

There was total silence for about fifteen minutes. I was sure he had slept, when he spoke in a quivering voice.

“I thought about it Amma… I am so sorry. I will never hurt you again…” His voice broke …

My resolve melted and I gathered him in my arms. Wiping his tears gently, I said, “Its ok, kanna.. don’t cry now…”

The same quivering voice (desperately trying to stop the quivers) said “You think I’m crying, Amma? Oh no.. I just have some water in my eyes…” And then briskly, “Now can you please tell me a story?”

My little baby is showing signs off growing into a man! And I don’t like it one bit!

9 Comments

  1. July 9, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Thank’s For Your sharing. I have enjoyed visiting this site today and hope to visit many more times in the future. I bookmarked this page. I really like your site. I’ll bookmark the other pages when I have time šŸ™‚

    hey, thanks to you too! šŸ™‚

  2. Vidya said,

    July 9, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Okay, the big question. Did you tell him the story or not? Enakku, en interest dhaan mukyam:)!

    of course, i did!! he’d have never let me sleep that night if i hadn’t! šŸ˜€

  3. kapil said,

    July 9, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    This incident reminds my own vintage incidents!!! By the way, apparam enna aachu? enna story soneenga?

    i think i told him a made-up story of him being a super-hero & how he fought with bad men along side his imaginary brothers chotta bheem, balram & krishna! šŸ™‚

  4. July 10, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Hi
    Just got to your site from Parentree. I don’t know how old your man-child is, haven’t read any of your other posts …yet… but boy!. Does it all sound familiar.
    My guy is going to be two. The tantrum-TV connection and all creates instant dejavu. Your temper “threatens” to erupt. Mine always erupts!
    But these guys know how to work their way into your heart. The sweetest smile and a sorry and you’re a river of gooey chocolate sauce. šŸ™‚
    It’s great when they grow up to articulate what they want…or sometimes I wonder, is it? Take care and take strength from the fact that a fellow mum, and many other fellow-mums, are going through the same.

    hey thanx! mine just turned six! oh two years is such a cute age! the tantrums are so much more controllable then, take it from me! šŸ™‚

  5. Shanti said,

    July 11, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Like the other day you said about he becoming mature šŸ™‚ Maybe it is a transitional phase of childish behaviour like I wont drink my milk and adult behaviour like I am not crying..

    true….:)

  6. kusublakki said,

    July 14, 2010 at 9:31 am

    I love this man-child of yours šŸ™‚

    šŸ™‚

  7. Biswa said,

    July 21, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Look at the bright side. If he is defying you, he is getting ready to defy his wife. That can’t be bad for you in the future, can it? šŸ™‚

    haha.. good one! šŸ™‚

  8. Mani said,

    July 31, 2010 at 7:30 am

    You should write frequently . Average of 1 article per month , Huhh !!!
    I visit your blog often and i like to read your anecdotes. It never fails to make me smile .

    Cheers
    Mani

    thanx so much! i shall definitely try! šŸ™‚

  9. maatuponnu said,

    September 9, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Ha ha šŸ™‚ It’s like you want them to grow up and you don’t want them to grow up at the same time, ain’t it.

    My nephew has the charming habit of forgetting that he ever caused a temper-storm in the house. Within 5 minutes of making sky-high demands he cuddles up to his mother and says ‘You are the best Amma’ in the world šŸ˜€ Who can relent after that?

    hehe.. that’s so cute! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

