We don’t need no education….

“Why should I go to school every day????” This was the first thing my son said, rather screamed every morning when the schools opened after the long summer break. “Why can’t I stay home & watch TV all day?”

The fact that he’s started 1st Grade in a new, bigger school didn’t help either.  He was still getting used to the idea of staying longer hours at school and (his voice breaks every time he says this) he has to eat the  lunch they serve him  everyday.

One particularly trying morning, we saw the gypsy man who collects garbage from our houses with his little daughter who’s almost the same age as my son.

“Look at the poor girl,” I told him, as we drove past. “Her father collects garbage all day & does not have the money to educate her. So she has no school, no teachers,  no friends and she will probably never know if she can become a doctor, an artist or a dancer.” Warming up to my lecture giving mode I droned on. ‘All day she’ll be on the streets with her farther, collecting garbage. Isn’t that sad?”

He mulled over it for a long time. He had tears in his eyes when he quiveringly replied. ” But I’m sure she’ll have more fun than me everyday…” And promptly burst into tears…

4 Comments

  1. Vidya said,

    June 30, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Your son at least envies only the freedom of the ‘garbage collector’. Mine envies the profession!! At 6, his ambition was to be one himself so that he could dress shabbily, climb on to the Exnora lorry and hang on with just one foot inside the vehicle and hop out at every pick-up point when the vehicle is still in motion!!!

    hehe.. so cute! thankfully this guy comes in a tricycle! not so exiting!!! 😉

  2. kapil said,

    June 30, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    good kid! he’ll understand mommy’s verdicts and sorrows and put things in a right way!!! unga son, super paiyan pongo!!!

    thanx!:)

  3. Ethan said,

    July 1, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Padmaja,

    Some of the pleasant lines which made me remain of Chennai 😦
    Sweet “1” liners …..Kudos to U & Ur “Smart Sun”

    • He had tears in his eyes when he quiveringly replied. ” But I’m sure she’ll have more fun than me everyday…” And promptly burst into tears…
    • “He kept saying, ‘Its alright, Don’t cry’ over and over. And when I didn’t stop, he leaned over and kissed my forehead. I was so shocked that I shut up immediately.”
    • ‘Chee! how can I have 2 husbands?’
    • Then turned to me and said, ” So you’ll take care of all that, won’t you?’
    • asked me to do one more namaskaram and collected more dakshinai.
    • I tried to pull him up, but he clung to the legs of the chair, shouting, “I can’t! Leave me!!!” and groaning “Aiyyooo!!!”
    • but Krishna the cowherd had more fun and less pressure than Einstein, anyway!!!

    thanx ethan! 🙂

  4. Ashwin said,

    July 2, 2010 at 9:14 am

    @ Vidya

    I think foot boarding on exnora vehicles in the early morning (minus the stink) could be good fun..Sadly, I cannot encourage my (girl) kid to do that..

    May be if I retire fast, I should try my hand at it and more such odd things..


Leave a Reply

