Wedding Plans 2029

I’d taken my son for lunch with a friend. The restaurant had a gift shop attached and we were browsing. He picked up a roll of giftwrapping sheet and started having an imaginary sword fight. “Amma!” he demanded. “I want this!”

“It’s not a sword.” I informed him. “It’s a paper to wrap a gift.”

“So what? Maybe I want a gift!”

“Look at the pink bow! It’s paper you wrap when you gift a girl! Not you!”

“Maybe I’ll gift something to A” He told me. She was his classmate in kindergarten.

After some hearty crying on his side, I relented and got it for him.

When my friend met us at the restaurant, she asked him, “What’s that, baby?” pointing to the roll of paper.

Without batting an eyelid he replied, “Oh, this is for a gift I’m going to give my girlfriend.”

I almost fell off.

Later I convinced myself that he could have just meant a girl who’s a friend. He was way too young to talk about romance.

*********

Almost a year later I picked him up from a play-date at his friend S’s house. A had come too.

Back home,  I heard him in the shower. He was having an imaginary fight with his friend.

“S!!! I am going to marry A when we grow up! Not you!”

Startled, I listened to a heated exchange between him and the imaginary S in the bathroom.

When he came out, I casually asked him, “What was that about marrying A?”

I am going to marry her Amma!” He announced. “Not S! I  told him that!”

Not knowing how to react, I quickly changed the topic.

Next day, S was home for a play date.

Sure enough I heard them arguing. I went into the room to hear both of them shouting “Not You! She likes me better! I shall marry her!”

Amused, I butted in. “Why don’t you ask her instead of wasting your time fighting with each other?”

“We did!” replied S. “She said she didn’t know! So I asked her if she can marry both of us. She laughed and said, ‘Chee! how can I have 2 husbands?’ So now we’re fighting again!”

I kept a very straight face and made my exit.

Later in the evening, I had a talk with my son. “You’re too young to talk about marriage!” I told him.

“You’re only 5. I don’t want you discussing your wedding till you’re 25, alright?” I told him briskly.

“Okay,” He said, not too happily.

Next evening, he came up to me and asked, “So I can get married anyday after I am 25?”

I quickly thought of an escape route.

“Not really. There are so many procedures involved.” I started  rattling on, so I can put him off the ‘wedding’.

“You need to find a good day. Then book a hall. Look at the menu. Decide on the food. Then print invites. Go around inviting each and every guest.  Buy new clothes for people. Exchange them if they don’t like it…  It’s a long process.”

He mulled about it for a long time.

Then turned to me and said, ” So you’ll take care of all that, won’t you?’

So people, if you know of any wedding hall free in 2029, do let me know…

18 Comments

  1. Shanti said,

    April 21, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Ha ha… Good na! One job less for you.. finding the girl 🙂

    I know! 🙂

  2. Praveen said,

    April 22, 2010 at 5:15 am

    LOL 🙂

    🙂 This post was your suggestion!!

  3. sachita said,

    April 22, 2010 at 5:46 am

    haha…hilarious this one is. but he trusts you enough to take care of it:)

    😀 I hope he stays that way till 25!

  4. kusublakki said,

    April 22, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Hahaa…what an adorable little fellow he is. I find him cuter with each post.

    🙂 how r u? not online for sooo long??

  5. April 22, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I’m sure at 25 he has very different ideas 😛

    i hope not! she’s actually a veRy sweet girl!!

  6. Praveen said,

    April 22, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Thank you!!
    I actually wanted to say thanks, but was wondering if it was already on your mind to post, then…. 😛

    😛 you’re welcome!

  7. Gradwolf said,

    April 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Hahaha I agree with Nandini!

  8. Vidya said,

    April 22, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Ha ha ha! What a nice triangle! Is the wedding in Chennai btw?!!

    no clue where all 3 of them will be at 25!! i am hoping chennai, though! 🙂

  9. kapil said,

    April 22, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    aren’t too young to decide your “mattu ponnu”??
    ha ha.. nice post!

    i don’t get to decide! now or later!!! 🙂

  10. April 23, 2010 at 3:13 am

    If it actually comes true, it’ll be one of those quintessential ‘childhood sweetheart’ stories, that people always talk about. 😀

    True!! 🙂

  11. Biswa said,

    April 28, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Catch them young, I say! Too bad that at this early stage in life, they still have a romantic idea about marriage. Doesn’t know yet that most of marriage is cooking, babysitting, washing, working. For now, he has his mom for that. 🙂

    hehe.. i know! 🙂

  12. maami said,

    April 28, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    என்னமோடி மா அவன் நன்னா இருந்தா செரீதான்
    (Sniffs into sari end)

    sniff sniff…. btw cool tamil typing maami! 🙂

  13. Serendipity said,

    April 28, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Love your son !

    he is such an adorable kid and above all quite honest to you.

    🙂 thanx!

  14. maxdavinci said,

    April 28, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    wah wah, and at 25 I donno if i’m getting married!

    🙂 good one!

  15. anusha srikanth said,

    May 2, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Sure. Only if i am invited… by then SRK would have a party hall on the moon.

    hehe… of course, you’ll be invited! 🙂

  16. I said,

    June 6, 2010 at 1:40 am

    wow, Mommy blogs are usually a huge bore. Surely, not yours.

    thanx! 🙂

  17. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Haha, I remember this. A’s mother also approved, no? No problem then!

    🙂

  18. srisarts said,

    September 30, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Haha, your son is SO cute! He obviously knows what he wants 🙂 Luckily I have 4 years left before I turn 25 🙂

    🙂 thanx!


Leave a Reply

