How I was duped… again! (continued)

After asking her the same questions like name, birth-star, husband’s name, his birth-star, childrens’ birth-stars, their spouses’ birth-stars, he blessed her too with a long recital of slokas.

Then came the purpose of the visit.

“We’re conducting a yagna today” he informed us again. “And you should contribute 5 kilos of ghee.”

By then I just wanted them out, with minimum damage to my purse.

“Sorry, I informed them. “I don’t have that much ghee at home.”

They looked at me like I was an errant child.

“You can give the equivalent dakshanai (money) , ma.” The older one explained.

I gave him Rs. 100.

The older one looked at me helplessly. “We asked for money equivalent to 5 kilos of ghee..” he said in a small voice.

I gave him another 100 Rupee note.

He looked at the younger one in despair.

The younger one looked at me sternly. “We need at least Rs. 500”.  He informed me.

“I don’t have that much. ” I lied. “I have to go to the bank to get more than this”.

I thought I was being very smart and firm. But didn’t expect my mom-in-law to say, “I have the money ..” and gesture to my father-in-law to get it.

Totally cornered, I accepted defeat.

“Okay, okay.. I’ll check if I have any other  money inside.”

I then handed over the remaining Rs. 300 to the waiting hands.

‘Now go!’ I pleaded silently. As if he heard me, the younger one asked, “Where are your parents? Any siblings? What’s their gothram?”

Once I answered all that, he asked, “what’s your sister-in-law’s gothram?” Just to check if she is a brahmin. I told him and a smile broke on his face. “Your brother has married according to the shastras... They’ll have a great married life,” he promised. “Of course, you will too, despite marrying according to your wish…”

After chanting some more slokas vociferously, they blessed my house and took their leave.

After I’d stopped shaking with anger and the whole storm died down, I  went to my in-laws’ room hoping to dissect the whole event.

“Did you see how accurate he was about your son?” they asked me excitedly. “And how fast they calculated everything so quickly on their fingers?”

I slowly went back to my room and started butting my head on the wall…

I called the one Tambrahm man I know who’ll really put things in perspective – My father.

After I gave him a short account, he  raved and ranted  at me for being so dumb to let them in.

” _____ Madam is the richest of its kind. Why would people from there beg for Rs. 500 door to door?” He bellowed. Suddenly his tone changed. He became fearful. “How do you know they are real priests? What if they’d rented the costume and were actually  hard core criminals, who just came into your house to note down things, so they can break in one night? Oh.. how could you be so dumb? You’re supposedly an educated woman! What if they go to your son’s school and kidnap him?!! ” He became hysterical.

My next call made to a friend. She went along the same lines as my father, but was far more sensible.

After assuring both of them I’ll warn my security guard never to let them in again, and even if they came in, I’ll never, never, never open my door for them, I heaved a sigh. But not of relief.

*******

Update: The duo were back after a few days. Thankfully I met them in the staircase on my way out. And my security guard was close at their heels.

They were flabbergasted to see me appear even before ringing my doorbell.

“We needed to give you the prasadam” The older one informed me, pointing to a heavy bag he was carrying.

“Give me,” I told him. ” I’m in a hurry to go out.”

The younger one looked at me sternly. “We need to come inside your house and give it. There are lot of procedures involved.”

“Well, I don’t have time for procedures.”

My security guard interrupted, “I told you not enter the building!”

“Who are you to stop us?”

Soon all three of them were screaming at each other randomly.

I stepped into the melee and said loudly, “I just have to go.. Can you please give me the prasadam?”

To which the younger one yelled, “I told you we cannot give it in the staircase. Fine. Looks like you don’t deserve it. If you want it, please come to the madam and collect it!”

With that they walked off in a huff.

Now I have no doubts about their authenticity, rather their lack of it!

All they did was forcefully enter my house, look down on my marriage and collect Rs. 500 against my wish.

And I’m sure if I have let them in the second time, they’d have done a big show of handing the prasadam to me, asked me to do one more namaskaram and collected more dakshinai.

Now a friend shared a story where a very distinguished looking Sardarji who walked into her house, claiming to be very spiritual. He started advising her on the vastu in her house. She smelled something fishy only when he asked her for gold, for a puja to clear the negativity in her house.

Thankfully, enter neighbor. She took one look at the man and threw him out.

What’s scary is that he even followed her when she moved houses.

I think I’ll just chuck my job and take up religion as my full-time occupation! Surely it’ll pay more with minimum effort!

12 Comments

  1. asha said,

    February 24, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    hi first timer on your blog. I think you should check with the … Madam. Could you recognize the TV person. Fake people like these bring disrespect to genuine ones. We have to be extra cautious.

    thanx! they were 100% fake, alright! 🙂

  2. kapil said,

    February 24, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    well, hope you’ve got an experience with uninvited guests!
    may that help you in the future! please be cautious!

    Suggestion: have a stockof “milagai-podi” and a “poori kattai” near the doors if you doubt!!! they are the best two weapons that give an idea what to do next!

    haha! thanx! 😀

  3. maxdavinci said,

    February 26, 2010 at 9:09 am

    cha parasadm waste aypochu!

    • kapil said,

      February 26, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      yaa!

      • padmajav said,

        February 27, 2010 at 12:00 pm

        sigh!!!

  4. Vidya said,

    February 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    I have a feeling that sitting together as a family and watching ‘The Root of all Evil’ documentary by Richard Dawkins will be of some help:-) What audacity to commit such daylight robbery! Please reach the police next time as such risks are not worth taking! Not when they manage to by-pass the security..

    Aaana, 500Rs. worth prasadam poche:-)

    • kapil said,

      February 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm

      rightly said!

      • padmajav said,

        February 27, 2010 at 12:12 pm

        thanx! shall try & watch it!

  5. maami said,

    February 27, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Har!Har !
    Sankara!Sankara!

    🙂

  6. Biswa said,

    March 2, 2010 at 12:53 am

    I am sure this time they would have offered to clear the “love” dosha of your marriage for an appropriate sum! That’s the strange thing about Hindu religion. Commit whatever crime you want, as long as pay off the godmen, you will be A-ok with God.

    Not that love marriage is a crime, but you get what I mean. 🙂

    i’m sure they’d have done that!! marriage is a crime – either love or arranged!! 🙂

  7. March 6, 2010 at 12:37 am

    My mom once got duped by similar con-men who claimed to be priests from Sri Kalahasti who were building another temple for which they were collecting money. My mom gave away a pair of gold earrings and a gold ‘Lakshmi kasu’. The scene that followed when dad found out was not a very pleasant one.

  8. A curious TamBrahm said,

    March 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Neenga oru graphic designer ah?


Leave a Reply

