My name is Khan….

I went for this movie with mixed feelings.

First of all, will it live up to the hype that has been created around it?

Will it be too emotional/melodramatic for me?

Or will I sit back and enjoy the usual magic of Shah Rukh all over  again?

Well, the answers are as mixed up as the questions themselves…

The whole movie boils down to just one sentence. (Oft repeated in the movie, of course!)

“My name is Khan and I’m not a terrorist.”

Visually, K Jo has created his magic without his usual lavish sets. Its minimal, but very pleasing to the eye. The camera work is just awesome.

Kajol is a big plus for the movie. I cannot imagine anybody else in this role. Her enthusiasm and fiery emotions are all so infectious.

The storyline, though not the first of its kind, holds you captive for the entire length of the movie… Very poignant in some places, funny in some and really heart-warming in some.

The screen play is brilliant. (A 50ish man next to me kept applauding every time Sharukh delivered a punch.. Though I didn’t look, I heard him sniffing and blowing his nose more than once…)

Having said all that, I must admit  the Shah Rukh fan in me was grossly disappointed.  He was hamming a bit too much, I thought. And there were moments which were so forced. Like the Mama Jenny, for instance. That was a truly WTF moment for me. (Sorry, people! But don’t know how else to put it!)

And I open the Indian Express today, and I saw Bharadwaj Rangan’s review and I just cannot agree with him more. He laments that Karan Johar is forcing himself to do serious, realistic and un-Indian  movies and is losing touch with his usual Indian sentimental extravaganza..

In his own words,

‘I hope he returns to chronicling the lives and loves of people, leaving issue-oriented narratives to directors more suited to dour message-movies seeking to rehabilitate a world stricken with ills. Come on, Mr. Johar, be yourself. Raise a hand and repeat: “My name is Karan, and I am not a therapist.”’

I do too, Mr. Bharadwaj, I really do.

4 Comments

  1. Saritha said,

    February 14, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Haven’t seen it yet, but agree completely about SRK doing these roles and KJo doing these movies. If you go to Rangan’s blog, you’ll find he said the same about Kamal Haasan too. I couldn’t agree more. Now that SRK has done stuff like Chak De, Paheli and MNIK, maybe he should return to some fun like Yes Boss, Duplicate, Baadshaah and Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa.

    🙂 But saritha, the sad thing is, i really enjoyed paheli & chak de. of course, yes boss and the likes were great fun, but i cannot take it when he strains himself to act like in MNIK and swades!

  2. kapil. said,

    February 14, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    well, i agree with saritha. Its really really becomes a loathe to see a great actor hamming down the great Hype given movie! Swades was exceptional so do i think is MNIK! what say?

    i say, yup!

  3. maami said,

    February 15, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Will you watch ‘My Name is Maami and I’m not an illusionist?’

    hehe 🙂 I will!

  4. Subha said,

    February 23, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Hey, I found your blog by-chance and it is very interesting..Spent a good 30 mins in ur blog today..

    I cant agree more with you on this post..I could not finish the movie and i was missing sharukh magic big time..

    🙂 Thanx!!


Leave a Reply

