Don’t lose your mind, lose your weight – Book Review

Book covers

rujutadiwekar.blogspot.com

I was listening to a friend drone on about her dietician… Another friend had just asked her how she managed to lose so much weight from the last time she’d seen her…

I politely interrupted to ask her if she’d read this book by Rujuta Diwekar.

“Pooh!” spat my friend. “My dietician told me that book is nothing but trash!”

Having read that book and totally taken in by it, I was a bit mortified by her strong reaction.

But in retrospect I always wondered how the regular dieticians would react to this book which attacks dieticians who use startvation to reduce weight so vehemently.

There, I got my answer!

Infact, I’m surprised why they all didn’t gang up together and sue her or something!

I,  for starters, have totally changed my perceptions on eating, after reading this book.

Its fantabulous!

The author, whose claim to fame is that she got Kareena Kapoor to achieve size ‘0’ tells all in this book. She even got Ms. Kapoor to write the foreward.

If a friend hadn’t recommended it so highly, I’d have just dismissed it as another filmy, hyped-up book…

Thank god I didn’t!

Because there’s nothing filmy about this book. Its more like the collective wisdom of all I used to hear from my grandmother, aunts and not to mention my own mother! With simple educational information on how to treat your body right and feel good about yourself.

She breaks down the most complexly percieved notions on the most simple process in our lives – feeding ourselves.

She educates us in a very simple language the processes involved in building a healthy body and how we punish ourselves by denying our bodies in the name of fad diets – nutrients.

I learnt that there are types of weights we carry. Lean body weight; which are the bones and muscles. And fat: which is just fat.

How those diets which tells us to avoid carbs or sugar or whatever reduces our lean body weight which is so essential to being healthy and not our fat…

She gives lots of examples from real life too, to make her point. For instance,  how a man went to weighing 68 kilos from 116 kilos after he joined a centre which promised rapid weight loss. But never felt energetic. His hair was falling at a rapid rate. His skin sagged around him. He tripped over a speed breaker while walking and ended up with multiple fractures in his arm. Why? Because his bones had lost their density due to starvation.

‘Don’t ever hold your body ransom to the weighing machine’ she cautions. ‘Weight is just a number. Once you start eating healthy and cultivate good fitness routines, you’ll automatically lose your fat’.

Along with all that we’ve heard and never paid much attention to.

Like chew your food, swallow and then take the next spoon (I was amazed that I was eating only 60% of what I normally eat to feel full!), think positive thoughts while eating, no TV or phone calls while eating, (this is the hardest! Istill haven’t mastered this!) eat something every 2 hours, eat your dinner maximum 2 hours after sunset, sleep early, never have alcohol on empty stomach, exercise regularly… all this and more.

She has a chapter dedicated to the four basic principles of eating right, which blows up a lot of myths on eating.

I was so floored by this book I was a zealous follower for about 2 weeks.

I could actually see my cheek bones at the end of 10 days and even my tummy had visibly reduced. Excited I got  a lot of copies and distributed it to all my friends.

But once the enthusiasm waned I’m back to my usual sins! And gained my weight back.

But since I have seen the results of  this book first hand, I’m making this my bible. I read a few pages everyday to drill it into my head.

I push myself to practice Yoga even when I can think of a million excuses….

Maybe  now I need a book for self discipline!

18 Comments

  1. Swapna said,

    September 2, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I think its really cool that you gave us a detailed book review. I had been tempted to buy the book and I thought maybe its all filmy stuff. The thing is I have a tendency to not buy books endorsed by celebrities for the simple reason that I dont believe what they market or say.

    Having said this, I have to say I do respect what readers and bloggers have to say about books because I trust their opinion and believe that the book has been read, from cover to its last page.

    I think a lot of these new centres make promises about weight loss. I know people who weigh every day and record it fanatically. I am not one of those but I sure would love to know the best eating habits because I think its invaluable to learn them.

    Thanks for sharing some really good points from the book. I think I would love to get a copy for myself too. Keep writing. All the best.

    Thanx, Swapna! Read the book… you’ll definitely benefit!

  2. Raj said,

    September 3, 2009 at 11:59 am

    hi Padmaja
    Thanks for a detailed review… I think I need to get that one and stop abusing my body..
    Raj.

    you’re welcome! 🙂

  3. Gradwolf said,

    September 3, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Wow, I remember you telling me about this book. Looks like it turned out great and I know millions of women for who this would be a great bday gift :p Polite way to say, “You are not doing it right!”

    haha!!! 🙂 maybe not! to quote the book, ‘its more about eating right that losing weight… weight loss is just incidental’ so go ahead and gift it!!!

  4. Shanti said,

    September 3, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    I too liked the book for it’s commonsensical way to eating and do try to stick to what she says in the book. I used to wonder how will Rujuta get clients if she writes a book of what she does for a living. Then realised taht following good habits as she says takes lot of discipline and I guess there comes her role by being there to remind her clients to eat well.

    so true! i heard lot of people were clamouring for her appointment after reading the book!

  5. Citric Acid said,

    September 4, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Thanks for detailed review. I’ve been hovering around this book in Landmark trying to decide if it’ll be good.

    If it comes from you that it’s a sensible book with no adhoc tips and age-old wisdom, then that book is worth it.

    hey, you’re welcome! get it… i don’t think you’ll regret it! but like i said, its difficult to stick to it long term!!

  6. maami said,

    September 4, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    who recommended this book to you? eva ava?
    also if there’s a book on self discipline review it, cause i lack the discipline to even read it.

    hmmm… 😉 it was you! and another no-nonsense friend….

  7. Pushpa said,

    September 5, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Haven’t read the book, but totally agree with all it says. I lost around 20 kilos in a year around 5 years ago, but I looked so horrible because I starved myself. I did gain back around 10 kilos, but now, with regular exercise, I still weigh the same, but look so much better and am much fitter. I also don’t bother to cut down food because I am hungry all the time with so much exercising 🙂 I do avoid a heavy dinner though!!

    Books that teach common sense are the best, but it’s so ironic that most people will not believe them because the logic seems so simple and too good to be true. For them, weight loss has to be about self-deprivation and torture, or it is not the right way.

    Will read this book if I get my hands on it.

    hi pushpa! do let me know if u r unable to get it. i can send u one…

  8. buddy said,

    September 6, 2009 at 12:51 am

    you are refreshingly honest!

    Thank u!:)

  9. Anjana R said,

    September 6, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    need a book for self-discipline? dont we all.. *sigh

    Amen to that!

  10. Raj said,

    September 7, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Update:
    Got one this weekend. After reading the first few chapters… I guess my 199 bucks definitely is a worth spend..

    Raj

    Great! 🙂

  11. anush. said,

    September 9, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    gung ho! will try and get a copy this weekend!

    do that! you’ll not regret it!

  12. srinivas said,

    September 9, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Hi,
    Thats a very nice review of the book, and yes most of the people (or dieticians rather) will not go by this book. I have tried pretty much most of what the book says (didnt read it tho, my colleague is a big believer of the facts the book carries and made me do it). Now after 3months of regular workout, i didnt lose a lot of weight, but what little I lost has made me more shapely than ever in my life.
    Also i can play sports with more energy and vigor than usual.
    Eating small meals a number of times a day really helps.

    I enjoy your other articles too. They’re fun to read and emotional too.
    Thanks

    thanx!! and yes, the most profound things in life are the simplest!! just eat the right amount of what you want at the right time and be happy with yourself!

  13. September 18, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    thanks for that article

  14. puja pilankar said,

    October 21, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    hello everyone…

    the book is indeed a masterpiece..it has changed ma life..my perceptions and has increased ma love towards my body..i have started caring it and nourishing it..i love rujuta diwekar ji for creating sch a wonderful helpin guide..

    i reduced 4 kgs..in as mch less tym as i had never done before…i had reduced a lot of kilos earlier…but tht was with pain nd irritation..

    but this tym…i enjoyed losing ma weight and tht too..with ease and confidence..

    i’m progressin towards a beautiful persone now..only cos of rujuta..

    thanx.

    🙂 that’s so wonderful!

  15. puja pilankar said,

    October 21, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    hey…dnt look at d grammar nd d spellin mistakes above…m der in office…wrote it lil fataafat…

  16. Subhashini said,

    December 28, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Thanks Padmaja for this wonderful review! I have experiencced first hand the effect of eating by sunset or before sunset and seen how my body loves it and how healthy I feel. Of course I dont last long. I am ordering this book for myself and many others. Thanks again

    Subhashini


    You’re welcome!! but it takes a lot of will power to stick by the book!! i’m still trying!!! 🙂

  17. October 31, 2010 at 6:23 am

    weight loss should be easy to achieve if you combine proper diet with lots of exercise ~

  18. saad Anwar said,

    November 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    “By reading this review, the book looks quite informative for those who are keen to reduce their weight.
    The author gives very useful tips about dieting.”

    Thanx!


Leave a Reply

