The male species…

21044536

For about a year now, I’ve stopped shielding my son from news of death…

Now that he’s so familiar with all the killings he so happily watches on Ben10, Krishna, Pawanputra Hanuman and the likes, I tell him the truth if someone we know passes on.

Recently a friend lost her mother and I had to tell him where I was going.

He later asked me, “how did she die?”

“She was old, baby..” I replied. “And she was not feeling very well…”

He pondered for a moment and left it at that.

Yesterday, I had a headache and was trying to sleep it off. He came charging into the room and wanted me to play a game with him. That instant.

“Not now baby! I pleaded. “Leave me alone for sometime.”

Concerned, he knelt beside my bed.

“Why, Amma?” he asked.

“I’m not feeling too well. Let me rest. I’ll feel better”

“Are you going to die, Amma?” He asked,Β  sounding very worried.

“No kanna..”Β  I replied, feeling very touched.

“Amma, please don’t die!” begged my little drama prince.

“I will not die now baby..” I assured him, stroking his head. “First I’ll have to grow into an old woman, I’ll die only after you get married and have babies…” I promised him.

He thought for a while.

“You’ll become an old woman, Amma?”

“Yes, Kanna..”

“And then you’ll die?”

“Yes, Kanna…”

After a pause, he asked me,

“Then who’ll be my new mother?”

That, my darlings, is the male species for you, in a nutshell…

21 Comments

  1. sachita said,

    August 8, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Had to simply dig this post for you,
    http://boosbabytalk.blogspot.com/2008/12/car-conversations.html

    As they kids are ushar parties:), avlow than.

    πŸ™‚ i know! i read boo’s too. so sweet! thanx for sharing!

  2. Gradwolf said,

    August 8, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Hahahaha, good this is in a blog. When he is old enough, you should probably show it to him! πŸ™‚

    Ya, i really should! πŸ™‚

  3. Praveen said,

    August 8, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    LOL.
    I have read the above post @ Boos too. Kids!!!

    πŸ™‚ you can say that again!

  4. kusublakki said,

    August 8, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    ROFL!! I agree with gradwolf — you must show this to him at some point in his life πŸ™‚

    I love his questions…his innocence πŸ™‚

  5. serendipity said,

    August 8, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    “who will be my new mother ?”
    muuahhhhh
    Your son is truly adorable !!

    I have read most of your posts and i loved that ” amma i like time outs” thingy

    Keep them coming !

    πŸ™‚ Thanx!

  6. buddy said,

    August 9, 2009 at 8:21 am

    he is brilliant!
    just gets smarter with every passing post!

    πŸ™‚ definitely not my genes!

  7. maami said,

    August 9, 2009 at 8:37 am

    tell him H, of the gargantual bazoombas fame, will be his next mum…. he’ll shut up and stick to your side in sickness and health….deiiiiiiii!dho varendaaaa!

    he’ll only be too happy! one dear friend advised my husband to show him an album of hot girls next time!

  8. chikoosmom said,

    August 11, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Vaal payyan πŸ˜€

    that, he is! πŸ˜‰

  9. anush. said,

    August 11, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I swear! my seven year old has trusted me with the responsibility of finding him a wife in case i die… this was after my brother’s wedding when everyone was talking about my father who passed away couple of years ago.

    haha… at least he still wants u to choose his wife! πŸ™‚

  10. Sangeetha said,

    August 11, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Incidently, two days back, i had a similar conversation with my 4-year-old daughter. Once the tearful protests of “plz don’t die” got over, she followed up with a wail “Who will cook for me?”. Then, sat up straight and asked in a serious, sad voice “And, what will happen to your clothes?”. Thank God, she didn’t get to my jewellery…

    [sigh]Boys will be boys and girls will be girls…!!!

    hahaha.. that was so cute! they just say what’s on their mind without thinking!

  11. Biswa said,

    August 13, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Nice, very nice. In my opinion, children start out being inordinately affectionate to their parents. That is how God programs them. And they continue to be affectionate until we the parents try to make them grow up by pushing them away. And then finally we complain that they have moved away from us! I wish we could do more to preserve this bond. Some parents actually do that very well.

    ya, so true… i ‘ve known parents who have such strong bonds with their kids at the same time give them ample space to grow… rare, but they do exist!

  12. bombaygirl said,

    August 13, 2009 at 11:46 am

    love it!

    thank u!! πŸ™‚

  13. Saranya said,

    August 14, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    hehehe… you rock.. and your son rocks even more! πŸ™‚

    thanx!! πŸ™‚

  14. Pradeep said,

    August 19, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Laughed long and hard:))

    :))

  15. August 26, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    well, he has the Plan B philosophy in place at any rate. Far sighted young gentleman I would say.

    πŸ™‚ you bet!!!

  16. Swapna said,

    September 2, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    LOL!

    I have heard a kid ask him mom what would happen if she dies and she said that dont worry, your wife will take care of you. So he says please find me my wife right away so that I have some one who looks after me like you do before you die.

    I swear, my friend was totally stumped!

  17. September 9, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Kids make us realize, in all our hypocrisy, that truth is actually strange!!

    Destination Infinity

  18. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    September 29, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Haha! This is a hilarious post!

    Are you implying what I think you are implying? πŸ˜€

  19. Vidya said,

    November 10, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    LOL! My 7 yr old has asked me to carry a mobile phone along when I die!

  20. pooja said,

    January 29, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    ha ha ha ha ….
    πŸ˜€

  21. Reegan said,

    January 8, 2015 at 11:20 am

    You’ve hit the ball out the park! Inieedcblr!


Leave a Reply

