Police story

20019956

I was driving back home on a Saturday from a bit of shopping. Impromptu, I decided to stop by at a friend’s shop on my way to pick up something. I called her to check if the shop was open. Knowing its illegal to use a mobile phone while driving, I put her on speaker and gripped the phone and the wheel while speaking to her for a few seconds.

 A little later, a bike rode right next to me and the riders signalled me to pull over. As they parked in front of me, I realised they were cops.

“Oh, joy!”  I thought as I pulled over.

One of them walked up to me.

I rolled down my window.

“Madam, You cannot talk on your mobile while driving…”

” I was not,” I protested. “I was just holding my phone.”

“Even that is not allowed, Madam. You can come with us to the sergent and pay Rs. 1100 as fine.”

“Where is he?”

“He’s standing under the bridge you just came by…” It was almost a kilometre behind me. (It occured to me only later that the sergent must be a seasoned scuba diver to stand under that bridge, which was constructed over the murky waters of Adyar river! Unless he had meant to say ‘the other side of the bridge’!)

I hesitated. “Its almost lunch time and I have a small child waiting at home…” I said pleadingly. 

He seemed good natured enough to smile and suggested, “Then you can give us whatever amount you want happily, madam. We cannot give you a receipt, though…”

“Oh, that’s ok,” I said happily, intending to give him a hundred ruppee note.

But as luck would have it, my wallet had only 3 crisp 500 Rupee notes.

Reluctantly, I peeled off one and handed it over. Do I ask for change, I wondered.

He beamed at me as he asked his fellow cop to come over and take it from me. (Why couldn’t he take it, I wonder…)

“I’m saying this for your own good madam. Please don’t use the phone while driving, its very dangerous”.

He went back to his bike and made a show of directing the vehicles so I could join the meagre traffic… 

In the days of yore, this was called ‘vazhippari kollai‘…

And people doing it were respected dacoits…

10 Comments

  1. Gradwolf said,

    May 17, 2009 at 8:32 am

    “Respected” dacoits? And so today they are respected traffic mamas? Lol…

    Yeah, at least the decoits were upfront about what they were!!! 🙂

  2. maami said,

    May 18, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Tsk Tsk

    😦

  3. buddy said,

    May 19, 2009 at 11:43 am

    inflation.
    still mumbai le rate is 100/-

    same in chennai too! just that i lacked the courage to ask for change!

  4. deepika said,

    May 19, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    You have been robbed! Happens almost everyday in India doesn’t it?

    Yes, Deeps… Sad, but true…

  5. maxdavinci said,

    May 24, 2009 at 9:17 am

    aajkal there are bluetooth devices thaat plug the phone to the car speakers!

    you should asak the hubby for a summer gift!

    hehe! i got a blue tooth! but forget to charge it most of the time. and sometimes its too much of a bother to set it on for a short drive!! (i know, i know. lazy me!!)

  6. Pradeep said,

    May 25, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Enna kodumai Saravanan idhu? 😦

    😦

  7. Vignesh said,

    May 28, 2009 at 7:34 am

    First time to ur place,

    You should have bargained, they come down to any level..:) once i just had ten bucks with me and he demanded 300 finally he asked “thambi kadaiiku oru cool drinks vangi kudupaa, thaagama iruku” 🙂

    its not kollai, its pichai 😛

    Haha! So true! Last time the cops caught me for non-working headlight, the cop came back after taking my licence to the Sergent & said, “Sorry Madam, neenga yaarunnu theriyama pudichitom! Romba sorry!” To this day I don’t know whom he mistook me for!!! 😛

    • Harish Ramaswamy said,

      September 29, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      haha what the hell!?

  8. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    September 29, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Mama pudichutaana?

    Yesterday, in Bombay, i was caught by the local train ticket checker. I had no idea that I got into I class and neither did my friend. all the compartments were just as crowded! he made me pay 300 rupees! paavi 😦

  9. November 7, 2014 at 10:35 am

    […] up and having my own share of such frauds like this and this and this, I still haven’t learnt my lesson. I suddenly remebered this driver incident from […]


Leave a Reply

