A walk to remember

15301360

Yesterday, I took my son to play football for the first time. Kids between ages 4 and 6 were learning it very close home. Since its only once a week and he needed the distraction from tv, I enrolled him.

When I dropped him there , I realised how close it was to my house and the streets leading to it were all tree-lined, peaceful and was very tempting for a walk. 

‘I’ll come walking to pick him up,’ I decided. 

Better than the treadmill. I can breathe fresh oxygen from the trees instead of the stale air-conditioners in the gym.

All chraged up, I locked my house an hour and a half later and started walking out briskly.

It was almost dusk and the fading light threw giant shadows in my path.

The road narrowed a bit and I realised I had to be careful if I didn’t want to step on the dog-poo at random intervals all along the road.

It’ll be better once I turn the bend, I decided. On either sides of that road were huge, well-kept bungalows and the road was always sprakling clean.

But as I turned the corner, my confidence wavered a bit. There was a drunk swaggering towards my direction.

I stopped. But he saw me and stopped too. With a leer, he waited for me to walk towards him.

I quickly looked around. Not a soul in sight. The residents of the stately homes were all tucked inside their stately havens. 

‘What can he do?’ I thought. A drunk is always easier to handle. Just one kick on his shins if he tries something.

So I started walking again, with as much confidence I could muster.

Seeing me walking towards him, he cackled loudly, saying something I couldn’t hear.

Terrified, I crossed the road to the opposite side of where he was standing.  

I weighed my options.  

I could run back home and get the car or just walk on bravely.

 I could scream for help or take my phone out and call the police.

As I neared him his slurry voice was more audible.

“Yei! Figaruuu… Vaah, Vaah..”  he beckoned. My heart in my throat,  I quickened my pace, ready to run if he made a move towards me. But he just stood and watched me as I walked past him on the other side of the road.

“Yei! Yei!” he called after me.

Once I was a safe distance away from him, I turned back. He was still standing there, telling me something.

I breathed a sigh of relief once I reached my destination.

The walk back was much better since the road was miraculously filled with people and  the drunk had vanished into thin air.

My son happily skipped ahead of me, taking in the sights. He normally whizzes past them in the car and never has the time to linger.

He stopped suddenly and bent over laughing.

“Amma! look!” He called out.

Curious, I walked faster, only to see two dogs mating in the middle of the road.

Horrified, I tried to steer him away.

“Look where you’re walking,” I yelled, desperate to distract him. “There’s dog-poo on the road!”

Momentarily distracted, he turned to the dogs after 5 seconds. He laughed loudly again.

“Amma! Look! They’re stuck together!!!” He exclaimed loudly.

Wishing the earth would open up and swallow me, I grabbed his hand and walked faster, till we reached my gate.

Phew!!

A walk in the treadmill is soooo less complicated!!!

11 Comments

  1. NRI Maami said,

    January 25, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Ha Ha Ha.. Could not stop laughing! How do you get into these?

    😉 I think I was born with a flair to get into unsavoury situations!!!

  2. oorja said,

    January 25, 2009 at 10:36 am

    ya.. it will be remembered by me everytime i need a good laugh…

    toooo funny.. 🙂

    🙂 thanx!

  3. Pradeep said,

    January 26, 2009 at 10:29 am

    hoooo hhaahaaa!!
    Why don’t try walking along the same route at night? I’m sure it’ll be very scary and that way the next time you walk to pick your son up, you’ll feel much better. 😛

    yeah, right!

  4. buddy said,

    January 27, 2009 at 2:02 am

    one part of me sympathizes with you.. the other part is rolling in laughter!

    Glad you enjoyed my misery!!

  5. maxdavinci said,

    January 27, 2009 at 2:29 am

    rofl!, sorry cudn’t resist!

    Its ok! 🙂

  6. Adithya said,

    January 27, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Now that’s the moment when, like you said, you wish the ground beneath caves in so that you can go hide. Lol, I was rofl ing at yei figuru only! LOL …sorry :p

    Don’t be sorry!!

  7. January 28, 2009 at 12:49 am

    ROFL @ ‘yei figaruu’ – Sorry! It’s not something to laugh about, but still! Men can be such pigs!
    And your son is getting to witness the not-so-subtle realities of life a tad too early! 😛

    🙂 You bet!

  8. maami said,

    January 28, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Didn’t I tell you that life can be a bitch in heat at times? 😉

    bleddy naansense! u always did!! 😉

  9. bombaygirl said,

    February 2, 2009 at 5:58 am

    That is so funny…even a simple little walk can become a nightmare. What do they say the road to hell is paved with? 😉

    😉 I’ll say dog poo and drunkards!!!

  10. Liberal said,

    February 3, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I am always on the lookout for a new excuse not to exercise…but this story beats them all!

    🙂

  11. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    April 15, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    This post is freaky and funny at the same time!
    Treadmills still suck !

    Ya, but its much more predictable!


Leave a Reply

