Such is the life…

Few weeks ago, while we were on a holiday, my four year old asked me a rather proufound question.

As we were lying down, getting ready for a nap, he asked me, “Amma, are you Appa’s life?”

What???!!!

“I don’t think so…” I replied, having just seen his father so blissful with a mug of beer in his hand, as he settled down with his cousin for some male-bonding.

“He said you are…” insisted my son.

Really? Oh wow! Maybe my husband has a die-hard romantic heart beating deep inside that gruffy front!

“Really?”

“Yeah.. he told me.”

“When?”

“He told me back in Chennai”

I was on cloud nine… Poor guy, I thought. Here I am giving him a hard time about so many things and he’s been putting me on a pedastal all the while.

A little later as we were drifting off to sleep, I heard my husband coming in to rummage for something.

“Am I your life?” I asked him.

“What??!!!’ He almost dropped his beer mug.

“Go back to sleep. You’re dreaming.” He went back shutting the door behind him, looking panic-stricken.

‘Well, if you want to play  macho, so can I…’ I thought.

……………………..

That was then. Yesterday, my son was watching something on TV and was telling me about the characters.

“X is Y’s father,” he informed me. ” And S is X’s child.”

“Ok,” I said not taking my eyes off the comp.

“And Sally is his life”..

“His wife, silly.. not life,” I laughed.

Then it hit me.

“Hey, come back!” I called out as he was walking back to the TV.

“The other day, did you mean I am Appa’s wife?”

“Yeah, you’re his life. Just like Sally”

“Its ‘wife’. Not life! Ok?” I was almost hysterical.

“Ok!” He yelled before chraging back to his room.

…………

My husband’s still laughing.

7 Comments

  1. Pradeep said,

    January 16, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    ROTFLMAO!!!
    I can’t believe it…Women sometimes can be naive. Can’t they? 😉

    Tell me about it! 😦

  2. maami said,

    January 16, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    What’s the moral? You lose your life when you get a wife? 🙂

    🙂 Maybe!! But it could also mean that I’m living up to the title you conferred on me years ago!

  3. NRI Maami said,

    January 16, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Ayyo.. too bad you discovered it was wife and not life! I would have loved to live with that lie 😉

    Me too! 😉

  4. January 19, 2009 at 9:03 am

    ROFL! Your son really got u there didn’t he? 😛

    🙂 he did! he’s a man in the making!

  5. oorja said,

    January 19, 2009 at 10:32 am

    a (heartbreaking) twist in the tale… 😉

    well i think we all know it was too good to b true in any of the wives cases.

    😉 i know!!

  6. buddy said,

    January 19, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    awww..
    there there
    -pats back

    thanks.. sniff.. sniff..

  7. maxdavinci said,

    January 20, 2009 at 5:44 am

    ha, there’s no life without a wife!

    PS: you must have realized that, it was a paid comment….

    🙂 thanx!


Leave a Reply

