Lessons in motherhood – 2

The recent non-stop rains in Chennai had just started that evening. I was heading home after a relaxed Sunday family visit with my four year old. Despite my hurry to get home before the downpour started in earnest, I had to stop over at a local super market to pick up some last minute supplies. I dashed through the aisles searching for stuff and kept an eye on my son who was energetically searching for the things that interest him.
By the time I reached the check out counter, my son was howling.
Why?
He could not find his lollipop with an apple on top.
Through gritted teeth I asked the store assistant to help him find it.
But no stock.
He offered the usual chocolate lollipop instead.
“No!” said my stubborn devil.
“Appa got it for me last time here.” He told me with his arms folded across his chest.

“Look, they don’t have it here.” I tried to explain as patiently as I could. “Its raining outside, and we have to get home asap. So stop this nonsense and lets go home.”

With that I walked out with all my bags.Β 

He followed me and got in the car. But when I started the car he started crying in earnest.

“I want my lollipop!”

So I called his father and told him to buy a big lollipop with an apple on top on his way home.

By now it had started to rain in sheets.

When I started the car, he screamed, “Amma, Stop!”

“What now?!!” I growled.

“Ok, I’ll take the chocolate lollipop.”

I was so mad that I didn’t bother to reply.

“I want two. ” He said as I opened the car door.

I ran out in the rain, raced to the store again while he waited in the car, (I know, I know… Should not leave kids unattended in the car, but I had no choice…) Β Picked up the damn lollipops and ran out.

I thrust both at him angrily and gave him a piece of my mind about how he drives me nuts and I’m looking for a nanny for him first thing in the morning, cannot take it anymore, etc, etc and started the car.

“Amma.. One is for you. That’s why I asked you to get two.” He said, totally not ruffled by my angry outburst.

Β 

I’m sure my son has some Karan Johar movie DVDs hidden among his collection of Bob the Builder and Thomas the Tank Engine…

10 Comments

  1. maxdavinci said,

    December 5, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    things that make you go awww on a friday morning at wrk!

    need to call my mom n ask her wat kind of a kid i was…

    πŸ™‚ tell me what she told u!

  2. December 5, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Kid these days!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ But seriously, your son will grow up to be a fine man. It is said that a man’s true self is revealed in the way he treats his mother. So, you’re a lucky mom!

    Really?! That’s very heartening! Thanx! πŸ™‚

  3. Shanti said,

    December 6, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I know you must have got very irritated at that time but I found P’s asking for one extra lollipop just for you so very cute and thoughtful.

    πŸ™‚ kids are a paradox!! They manage to be totally irritating and cute at the same time!

  4. maami said,

    December 8, 2008 at 10:59 am

    He’s a little rascal but he’s still his amma’s boy!

    Hehehe.. He sure is πŸ™‚

  5. NRI Maami said,

    December 8, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Your son is always such a darling. You and I are very similar moms. I can totally imagine reacting the exact same way you did.

    Thanx! But I’m sure you’re not so short-tempered! I’m working on that!! πŸ™‚

  6. buddy said,

    December 8, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    hahaha…he totally got you!
    im all awww too now…

    πŸ™‚

  7. Pradeep said,

    December 9, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Whoa! How sweet?!!

    Guess my bro and I were totally sweet kids then. My mom used to take us both out to the lending library, for my daily dose of Archies, Chacha Choudhary etc. Never once have I asked for a chocolate. And when my 2 year old bro would be told “naalaikku ma”, he would readily agree! πŸ™‚

    So cute! We were much more in agreement with our parents those days… I can’t even imagine saying, “naalaikku ma” to my son. He’ll probably break my knees!!

  8. Pradeep said,

    December 9, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    lol. I had only 2 problems as a kid.
    My mom used to feed me a banana with lunch. Sometimes she absent mindedly used to break the banana and try to feed me the small piece. I would demand the put back the banana together and give me whole fruit. Of course, I wouldn’t accept another banana. I would want THAT very same fruit in its original form. πŸ™‚
    Her pleads that the banana could not be eaten without breaking, would only fall on deaf ears.
    The second one was that whenever there used to be a power cut while I was watching TV, I would ask my mom rewind the TV and take me to what was happening 5 mins back. Of course, I wouldn’t agree if she told me that she can’t rewind a TV program. πŸ˜›

    Mathapadi romba nalla payyan.. πŸ˜€

    Haha! That was cute! My son does the same thing about the bananas, but thankfully not all the time! As for TV, he does not comprehend the concept of rewind, so he just cries for his programme when the power comes back!!

  9. Adithya said,

    December 10, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Pozhaka therinja aalu! Be happy πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚

  10. b u b b l e s said,

    December 13, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Hey…
    Was blog hopping and chanced upon yours.. Awwww you kid is such a sweeto! Love to him!

    B u b b l e s

    πŸ™‚ Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

