Cold is common?

Hi folks! Its almost 20 days since my last post. I was travelling a bit, been down with fever, cold and cough and my broadband connection went on strike. No idea if that’s rectified because my monitor crashed on me and I cannot get my desktop to run till it gets repaired or replaced…

Enough of my woes. As I sniff and inhale the aroma of eucalyptus oil when I’m still groggy from last night’s dose of anti isthamin, I cannot but reflect on my father’s argument on cures for common cold.

His point is when modern medicine has advanced so much in recent years, why isn’t there a quick relief from cold? When scientist are racking their brains to find a cure for cancer and such, why hasn’t anyone bothered to work on common cold?

His says its a conspiracy between the government and the pharmaceutical companies, who make their monies by selling us paracetemols and anti isthamins for atleast 4 days per person. All these medicines control the symptoms only and do not destroy the virus. If we ever get a medicine to do that , the pharmaceutical companies would lose millions.

I tried arguing that it takes that many days for the cold virus to leave one’s body, but he wouldn’t let go. He just rambled on & on…

Though at that time, I thought it was just a load of nonsense from his over-active mind, now I’m beginning to wish I had a magic pill that’ll make this horrendous common cold vanish in a minute!

11 Comments

  1. November 14, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Well, it is indeed very ironic that there is no scientific cure for the world’s most common illness. All the pharmaceuticals, herbal remedies that are prescribed, only have a placebo effect. But the body deals with it even without those remedies. So, unfortunately, we can’t really blame the companies for it! Cold is the only illness that dies away even without medicine. It cures itself. Just give it time!

    And get well soon! 🙂

    Thank you! 🙂

  2. buddy said,

    November 14, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    there is a saying..if you go to a doctor a cold takes seven days to heal, if you leave it alone, it takes a week
    sleep it off!

    🙂 I wish I can sleep it off! And I’ll be missing out on a great movie preimere tonight, thanx to my cold! 😦

  3. NRI Maami said,

    November 14, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Yep.. I was just going to tell you the same thing buddy did. However, I’ve always wished for a cure for the damned cold my daughter always has. As far as she’s concerned, she either has a bad cold or just a cold, never really, no cold.

    I hate kids getting a cold… Its soo sad to watch them suffer…. Surely there must be something to help them at least…

  4. maxdavinci said,

    November 15, 2008 at 7:09 am

    it’s true. there is a nexus whereby they dont find a permanent cure. Max revenue is generated via over the counter cold medicines. Most of the advertising also revolves around cold and headache!

    imagine in sabka kya hoga

    I know! Maybe there is a conspiracy! 🙂

  5. maami said,

    November 15, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Atchoo!Sniff!Sniff!Arrrrcoughhh!
    Erm, ‘Bmanga’ here too 😉

    Oh you poor thing! My husband tells me the best cure for cold is hot pepper rasam with a spot of brandy! 😉

  6. Adithya said,

    November 16, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Oh, I perennially suffer from cold. It’s like round the clock. So doctor visits en al long gone.

    Great movie premiere? Thousand elephants? Review please? 😛

  7. Adithya said,

    November 16, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Err, you missed it? Ok, sorry, never mind!

    Ya, I did. It was Vaaranam Aaiyiram. Was dying to see it.. 😦 Anyway hope I can catch it this week and shall review it for sure!
    Can’t you take some preventive medicine for cold? Like Vitamin C pills or that ayurvedic drug most people swear by – Septilin?!

  8. Pradeep said,

    November 17, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    @Padmajav,
    I logged in to tell you that pepper rasam+brandy matter. Good that you know it already. If you don’t have the enthu to make pepper rasam just for this, even luke warm water + pepper + brandy will do. 🙂

    PS: In my experience, VSOP premium works best. 😛

    Thank you! Now I shall raid my husband’s stock!!! 😉

  9. Pradeep said,

    November 18, 2008 at 12:02 am

    @Padmajav,
    Husband’s stock aa? Shame shame!
    It is high time you had your own stock! 😛

    What to do? We good Indian (esp tambrahm) wives cannot have our own stock! Abacharam!

  10. Lakshmi said,

    November 18, 2008 at 2:35 am

    one multivitamin a day does the trick.. I am religious about it esp in winters. but now, wish i get sick once in a while.. in the hope of shedding half a pound.

    Hehe.. me too! I’m only gaining weight these days! Multivitamin is a good suggestion. I shall get some!

  11. Radhika said,

    December 11, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Try siddha medicine.Thalisadhi churna is the best medicine for cold.i experienced it.

    Thanx! I shall...


Leave a Reply

