Lost Lessons…

After a child-abuse scare in my son’s previous school, a friend urged me to educate him on such issues.

‘Isn’t he too young to understand?’ I asked her, ever the non-confronting type.

‘Kids are never too young to be warned about these things,’ she replied wisely. ‘I had this talk with my daughter when she was barely two. You don’t need to get into gross details. Just tell him that someone touching his private parts is a strict no-no. If anybody tries to, tell him he must tell you about it.’

‘Hmmm.. Okay,’ I nodded thoughtfully.

‘Look, unless someone tells him its wrong, he’ll just think that’s the way things are,’ she explained. ‘Its up to us as parents to let the children know the difference between what’s right and what’s wrong. So just do it so your son does not suffer in silence’

That really pushed me into action.

I wondered for a long time about how to open the topic with him.

One fine day I just wanted it over with.

I sat near him while he was busy playing with his power-ranger toys.

I thought I’d be casual about the whole thing.

‘Did you go to the bathroom in school today?’ I asked, as I picked up a Red ranger toy.

‘Yes.’ he replied.

‘Did anyone come with you?’ I asked

‘No’ he said as he snatched his Red Ranger from me.

‘That’s mine!’

‘Okay!’ I said , tempted to lecture him on sharing instead.

He continued his fight, unmindful of my presence.

‘Listen,’ I said, ‘Don’t let any one touch your weewee or bummy, okay?’

The fighting stopped abruptly.

‘Why, Amma?’ he asked.

‘Because its wrong,’ I replied.

‘Really?’

‘Yes’

After a long pause, he turned to me wide-eyed and said, ‘But I touch my weewee everytime I go su-su… That’s wrong?’

Maybe I should have left this responsibility to his father, I thought with gritted teeth.

…………………………….

This time I wanted to warn him about kidnappers and such.

Someone offered him a chocolate when we went out. Clearly that person was being friendly. But what if someone with a not-so-good intention offered him the same?

So as we were driving back I told him that there are some bad people who give chocolates to small children.

‘Why?’ he asked.

‘So they can carry them away and lock them up’, I replied.

Stony silence.

‘If someone you don’t know offered you a chocolate, what should you do?’ I asked him after a while.

‘I’ll say Thank You’

‘NO!’ I screamed. ‘You’ll not take it from him. What if he’s a bad man?’

After much contemplating, all he had to ask me was

‘Does the bad man have nice, big yummy chocolates?’

I give up.

7 Comments

  1. Pradeep said,

    August 5, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    <> lol!! kids are kids. πŸ˜€

    You bet!

  2. maxdavinci said,

    August 5, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I was like that! My mom tried all ways to threaten me. But I wud go and talk to anyone and accept chocs with a huge smile and thank you! She was lucky I guess, coz no kidnapper wanted me!

    ps: wee-wee touching wasn’t fashion then!

    You were indeed lucky! Thank god, my son’s not aware of the latest trends!!!

  3. drunkdreamer8 said,

    August 6, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Hello,
    just wanted to invite you to my blog (If I haven’t already- I have a new home)at http://www.drunkdreamer8.com if you needed some encouragment today.
    C.Apana

  4. Nandini said,

    August 6, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    LOL your son’s too cute πŸ˜€

    Thank u! πŸ™‚

  5. bombaygirl said,

    August 7, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I was just thinking about this for my kids! How timely. I’m not sure how to bring it up with my son. My daughter, though younger, will probably get it. She’s already figured out the difference between her and Nik! She told me the other day, “Nik has a penis.” Then, she pointed to herself and said, “Aa-ee has penis.” She calls herself Aa-ee. So I took the opportunity to correct her and said, “Nik has a penis, and you have a vagina.” She said, “Jai-na?” I said, “Yes” So then she said, “Nik has a penis. Aa-ee has a Jai-na.” And that was that.

    Now I have to tell her that no one should touch her Jai-na. Wish me luck.

    Yes, girls are sharper…more intuitive too… All the best to u!!! πŸ™‚

  6. maami said,

    August 7, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Wee wee, bad man, strangers, dangers, big bad wolves…Aiyo! Why can’t we have it easy?

    Tell me about it! 😦

  7. Bhavna said,

    August 12, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Well My girl is even better- she is 2.5 and spreads her legs all wide every possible oppurtunity. Forget about strangers et al- currently I am struggling with- Is this how she’s going to be when she grows up?
    Btw- since my son , (3.5)has been asking for details on cows and bulls ( times have changed since birds and bees) – he can now correctly identify both, I think I will use cows and bulls to start ‘adult’ education.

    So sweet! πŸ™‚ But tv makes it easier for us to educate them these days! When I was growing up, even ‘love’ was a bad word!!


Leave a Reply

