Book Review – The 3 mistakes of my life

A few months ago, I received a forwarded message from a friend which contained the first chapter of this book.

And when I finished it, I wanted to read more. And by typing in email IDs 3 of my friends, I got to read the next chapter.

A very good marketing strategy, I must say. Because, when I saw the book on the shelf, I just grabbed a copy.

And I was not disappointed. The book is racy and totally un-put-downable. I finished it in 2 days, which is a record for me! (Of course, it’d have been faster if my son hadn’t been constantly trying to grab it from me!)

The language is simple. The narration is crisp and to the point. It’s like hearing a brother/cousin/male friend tell a story from his life. What I mean is there’s a quality of hearing a story from a very familiar person.

The story is poignant.

Chetan Baghat has dealt with sensitive issues like religion & politics, mixed a bit of a romance and cricket. And set it against the backdrop of the violent earth-quake and riots that shook up Gujarat a few years ago.

Given this mixture, the book does not disappoint one of promised drama and action.

In his blog, Chetan Baghat has said

“I do hear the term “Bollywoodish” associated with some of my stories. As long as that is an observation, it is fine. (Good) Bollywood is about drama, plot, message, fun, emotions, action and happy, hopeful endings. I like that about Bollywood.”

In a nutshell this is what the book is all about.

But strangely, the story did not linger in my mind after I closed it…

Really don’t know why. I’m still trying to figure it out…

But  it was definitely an enjoyable read.

2 Comments

  1. davematt said,

    June 30, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks for the review, will definitely try and get a copy.

    DM (http://swameth.wordpress.com/)

  2. maami said,

    July 1, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Bhagat writes for a constituency that is the young and he makes no bones that his books are not literary. While his first two books were on call centres and IIT and big city lights, he has moved from the privileged class and has written about small town youth in this one. A welcome read.
    Bhagat remains good time pass. That’s why he won’t linger, his lines don’t come back to haunt you.


Leave a Reply

