Answered Prayers…

After that horrendous experience in my son’s school last March, I had frantically tried most of the good schools I could think of inside city limits. (I was tired of driving 10 kms one way!)

Walking into a school in my own neighborhood, I’d fallen in love with what I saw. It had such a friendly ambience, lots of space in front for the kids to run around and fantastically informal & colorful classrooms… Was sure my son would love it too. But as luck would have it, all admissions were closed. I left an application, nevertheless.

When school began in mid-June, I’ had no choice but to send him back to that same distant school. Now I had to make the trip twice. Once to drop him and once to pick him up.

Just when I’d braced myself for that routine, I get a call out of the blue from the school I loved. Am I still interested in a seat for my son?

Of course I am.

I was asked to meet them today.

I’ve just met them and he’s got himself a seat!!

Its just two minutes walk from home and he just loves it!!

Heaven!!

I also heard that some moms out there in the old school were smirking that I came back this year after fighting so much with the management..

So my pride is back too!

3 Comments

  1. maami said,

    June 25, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Nothing like a small neighbourhood school. It might not be great on fancy toys and stuff, but it will be homespun, comfy, personalised and will help give a grounding to the child too.
    And now, could you pass a bit of that new found luck of yours to me too?

    Yup! Its actually a big school considering the number of kids and fancier than his old one! You’re bang-on with the personalised and grounding…
    And all the luck is yours if you’re just open to it!
    😉

  2. Rada said,

    June 25, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Good for you, Padmaja!

    Often, small victories are the most satisfying, don’t you think?

    🙂 You bet!! And Thanx!!

  3. Pushpa said,

    July 1, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Hey Padmaja,
    This is great news. I’m so happy for you. In Chennai tomorrow. Will call.


Leave a Reply

