Book review – The Tambrahm Bride

thetambrahmbride_wrapper.jpg

I just finished this book called The Tambrahm Bride by Kausalya Saptharishi.

The title promised a fun read, something like ‘No onions, no garlic’ by Srividya Natarajan. But I was disappointed with this one. One could have done so much more with this theme.

While its humorous in bits, poignant in places, it lacks an overall warmth. There’s nothing spontaneous in the writing. Each sentence seem to have been crafted with so much care, (I’m sure) re-written a hundred times, that it feels so false. Not a book from the heart, but feels like a carefully rehearsed and written essay.

Care has been taken not to hurt anybody’s sentiments, so everyone is sugar and honey to each other. All the characters feel like they’re straight out of a Karan Johar flick.

If only she’d used the same candidness to describe other characters as she had with the 25 grooms and their families! They were funny. Each of them a real character! But everybody else is just perfect.

Perfect mom. Perfect daughter. Perfect father. Perfect brother. Perfect grandmother. Perfect aunts and cousins. After 25 disasterous grooms, a perfect husband. Perfect children. Perfect ending. Yawn!

The sad thing is, this book with the storyline and circumstances captured could have been a laugh-riot and a profoundly poignant read at the same time.

And the graphic designer in me feels the cover could have been so much better!

7 Comments

  1. maami said,

    March 4, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    imperfect book;perfect review.

    Thanx! Did u get to read the book?

  2. March 8, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Hi Padmaja,
    Thanks for taking time to read and review my book. I’m sorry that it didn’t completely live up to your expectations. It was my first attempt at writing fiction and I know I have room for further improvement.

    Just wanted to say that I wish I’d had time to write and re-write every sentence. Since I borrowed elements from my own life for the story, I tried to tell it in as heartfelt a way as I could…the words just poured out from my inner being if you will. Writing the book made me more aware of issues relating to empowerment of women.

    I’m grateful for your critique though. It’s important for first-time writers like me to have the courage to take the brickbats with the bouquets.

    Hope I do a better job next time πŸ™‚

    Best,

    Kausalya

    (BTW, I’m a huge fan of Karan Johar’s movies :))

    Hi!
    A comment from the author herself! Wow!! I’m honoured! Sorry If I had been too harsh in reviewing your book, but that was my honest, if not humble opinion! But like I said, the literary content in the book was commendable. I shall eagerly await your next book…
    πŸ™‚

  3. Never Mind said,

    April 13, 2008 at 5:48 am

    Actually, in your defense, I felt the exact same way. Perfect parents, perfect daughter, everyone is perfect. May be a pinch of salt here and a dash of pepper there would’ve done the trick for me. But over all, a good read for a lazy weekend afternoon. BTW: Cool blog template, I half guessed you were a graphic designer or sought professional help for the blog design

    Thanx! Ya, so true about the book… Actually the blog template is a readymade one from wordpress! I had nothing to do with the design!! Thanx anyways πŸ™‚

  4. Naveen said,

    June 3, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I completely agree with your review. My guess is the author has taken some of her real-life experiences, removed her share of misdeeds and mistakes and written a book, which is why everyone in the girl’s side of the family is so perfect. I completely agree that every sentence written in that book must have been rehearsed a few 100 times using a dictionary and thesaurus. I very much doubt the author’s comment “words just poured out from my inner being”. In fact, I found some of the material to be a “case of sour grapes”.

    True. πŸ™‚

  5. Vidya said,

    August 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    still there are grammatical mistkes in atleast 3 places…!!!

    really??!

  6. Ravi Bedi said,

    February 12, 2012 at 9:18 am

    It’s a lot easier to throw a brick at a new writer. You won’t do that to a Chetan Bhagat, even if he produces a trash like ‘Five Point Some Thing’…or whatever. If MF Husein shits on a canvas, it becomes a piece of art. The same thing applies to writers.

    it’s just my humble opinion & i did write about chetan bagat too… πŸ™‚

    • Ravi Bedi said,

      April 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

      MInd trying my “Lovers’ Rock”–Rupa Publications.


Leave a Reply

