Valentine musings, belated…

security-grd.jpg

I’d meant to write this on Valentine’s Day, but was too swamped with things to write a coherent piece then…

Anyway here goes.

This has nothing to do with romance or the V day itself.

Just something that happened to me years ago, just before Valentine’s Day.

I was working late one evening. Bid my colleagues farewell albeit distractedly, as they made their way out of the office one by one.

Suddenly looked up from my comp to see the office deserted. Most of the lights were off, except for my cubicle.

I sat almost at the far end of the office and the main door seemed far away.

Suddenly a nameless fear seized me and I wanted to make a quick exit from the suddenly spooky place.

Of course, we had 24/7 security, but the guard sat outside, in the reception area.

The shadows loomed large from all the empty cubicles and I broke into cold sweat.

I shut my machine off and hastily gathered my things and raced towards the door.

Here, let me talk a little about the layout of the office.

Like I said, My cubicle was at the far end. To come to the door that leads to the reception, I had to go past a lot of cubicles, and the pantry and the restrooms. Then comes the conference room and the door to the reception.

As I shot past the restroom doors, a light caught my eye. The Ladies’ washroom door was fully open with the stopper on. The ladies’ toilet door inside was also fully open and there sat the portly security on the pot, with his pants down.

I screamed as I raced past the reception, only to find the main door firmly locked.

Panicking, I desperately searched for the key. It was in place on the top-side of the glass door. How I managed to open the door, ran to the car park & started my car is still a huge blur in my mind.

But as I reversed down the sloping drive way (I had just started driving then & was yet to master this without the hand-brake), “Madam!” A voice called in the darkness.

I braked sharply and turned around to face the shame-faced security guard. ” I am so sorry madam” he said. “I thought no one was in the office. I’m really sorry madam” He rattled on.

Still shaken, I waved him off. “Its ok,” I croaked and zoomed out.

Needless to say, I never saw him again. Somebody else had replaced his shift from the next day.

When I narrated this to my colleagues the next day, there was a laugh-riot. People were laughing about it for days. Someone even made up a story that the guard had had a major crush on me and that was his Valentine’s gift to me…

But one female colleague was totally miffed with me.

Why?

“He came all the way down to apologise. Why the hell didn’t you blast him for using the ladies’?” She demanded. “I don’t even feel like going in there now”

Each unto his own… oops.. her own..

3 Comments

  1. maami said,

    February 20, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I believe Valentine’s Day deeds can get quite crappy!

  2. James Mylaporean said,

    February 25, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Andha security guard peru Loordaswamy 🙂

    Haha!

  3. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    March 19, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    hahahahahahaha.
    this is an extremely funny incident!!!!


Leave a Reply

