Update on time-out

dunce2.jpg

Today, I tried time-out again.

But this time, he was very hesitant to get on the chair. I forced him to sit on it.

Sitting close by, I held him by his shoulders to prevent him from getting up.

After a few seconds, he said tearfully, “I don’t want to sit…”

“Will you be a good boy and behave yourself?” I asked sternly.

“Yes…” he replied

“Will you eat your lunch without a fuss?” I demanded.

“Yes…” he replied.

After many such promises, I said, “OK, You can get down now. And if you misbehave or disobey me in any way, I’ll put you back in this chair and its time out for you, alright?”

“OK.” He agreed meekly.

I turned back to go into the kitchen.

I heard a sudden crash.

The time-out chair had landed a few paces behind me, while a very angry young man stood, giving me a menacing look…

Just in case this time-out business had given me the impression of being the one in charge…

So there…

5 Comments

  1. maami said,

    January 29, 2008 at 9:33 am

    i think the way to be a successful parent is to learn to lose gracefully.
    the fight will go on with shaolin master aka rettai vaal rengudu.but don’t give up the fight. indian mommies endure;never give up, remember?
    er, exkiss me pliss, gotta get back on my chair-it’s time out for me!

    Thanx! I shall remember to endure next time. Yesterday, I was trying to shove him into the car after school. He was as usual kicking and screaming, refusing to come back home. A man with a tie chose that precise moment to talk to me about some program they were holding for kids and wanted my number. Sensing my distraction my son slapped me on my face. On reflex, totally without thinking, I slapped him right back. The poor man with the tie took a step back involuntarily and said a quick adieu! A pretty mother & son picture:) Yes, parenting is a tough game and next time I shall endure & maybe show my other cheek! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. lakshmi said,

    January 30, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Paddi,
    Your son is a cutie. I can only imagine his face when he decided to show you his temper. I have one hot-tempered kid too.. just no longer cute.
    On my way home from daycare, I used to list all the activities to be done when we get home, including some fun time after all the chores/homework/dinner is done. We get about 75% done with a shortened play time.. I find that even little kids need to know the big picture, and where things fit in. That way they feel like they are in control..
    Get your toddler to help you prepare dinner, make his own chappati with a cookie cutter, set the table for all of you etc. You may find a willing participant – positive reinforcement??
    my 2c.
    That’s a good idea! I normally never let him help me in anything because of the mess he makes! Maybe I should, so he does not feel left out.:)

  3. 10yearslate said,

    January 30, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Keep at it. Persistence is the key. Or as a character said in the low brow classic ‘There’s something about Mary’, ” Do you stop driving when you hit one speed bump?”

    Time out is good-even for us adults.

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement! I shall keep at it.

  4. mrs.maami said,

    February 8, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    whaaat? that rettai vaal slapped you-a?
    daaeii, remind me to spank him next time i’m in chennai. as for you i think you ought to get yourself a burka. be thankful you are not abroad-they would have had you arrested for not showing the other cheek!

  5. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    March 19, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Since i have absolutely no experience in parenting, no comment.


Leave a Reply

