Crazy colleagues-I

I ‘ve had the pleasure of working with a lot of people who are really funny. Some without meaning to be.

This post chronicles the most oft remembered characters.

* Names have been changed to protect their identity.

Masala Madhavan*:

We once had this dude boy working with us. He was fresh from college and was intent on making an impression on any new female recruits. He was good-looking, athletic and spoke with a yankee accent and was very good in his work. Very sweet, but he always had to add some masala to anything he said.

A sample: He once told us that while riding his bike in a storm in a Chennai road, he actually saw a coconut tree bend, touch the ground and went back to standing straight.

Paranoid Paranthaman*:

He is more of an alter-ego of a colleague. He’d manifest himself at the most unexpected moments. The usual happy-go-lucky guy who played practical jokes on all of us with enthusiasm would suddenly vanish and in his place would be Paranoid Paranthaman. He’ll then start resembling Kamalhaasan in that Jayaram movie.

Two guys from office had gone over to his place late one saturday. Finding the place locked, they decided to play a joke on him. Left a note under the door which said, ‘Be careful. You don’t know whom you’re dealing with…’

On monday morning we saw PP at his worst. He’d already called an uncle who’s in the police force to check if he needed their protection, listed out possible enemies with his wife, actually slept with a cricket bat under his pillow and had also got his parents in law involved.

The whole office was buzzing with excitement and each time the doorbell rang, all of us jumped. (Our office was in a residential building, part of a bigger house)

The monkeys who’d actually written the note had conveniently forgotten the whole thing. It was done on an impulse after a few beers. That particular day, both had gone for meetings straight from home and came back to office at the end of the day. And were soon caught up with the excitement. But as soon as they knew what started the whole thing, they fell strangely silent. Looking at each other, after few minutes of guilty silence, they confessed…

All hell broke loose! And after giving them an earful we broke into a fit of giggles…

5 Comments

  1. rekharaghav said,

    December 13, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    Really tempted to try the second prank. Can’t think of an apt Paranoid Parandhaman though!

  2. maami said,

    December 14, 2007 at 4:03 am

    Ha ha. Have I met these chappies?

  3. padmajav said,

    December 17, 2007 at 9:34 am

    hi rekha, but in these days of text messages and IMs, a note like that seems so old fashioned!!!!
    and maami, of course you’ve met all of them! one of the monkeys who’d left the note is my husband and he cringed when he read the post!!!

  4. lakshmi said,

    December 20, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    My first friend in a foriegn country. I love her to death.. KW. But, she has put me through some startling moments.
    We’d go out to eat lunch and dinner.. I’d walk with her to the hot dog stand -she’d get a dog and me a bag of chips. I remember one day choking on a chip when she told me what the hot dog was made of..
    Being FOB, my apetite had been small and I would share my order with KW. She had an apetite of a camel.. eat a lot when you can. She was always broke – so she’d go without a lot of times.
    One day we were eating at Union Station -I’d ordered a baked potato. I guess I was hungry and I finished up my potato.. eating just the insides carefully, when KW pipes up “Can I have your skin”.. I thought she was joking.. so I said. sure.. and she really took it and started eating with gusto!

  5. padmajav said,

    December 21, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Ha Ha!!!


Leave a Reply

