People….

Last week I joined a gym… I’m not too much of a gym person, but gave in to the persistent egging on by my better half to keep fit and joined one 2 years ago. Had to give it up after a year of infrequent, sometimes half-hearted attempts to cultivate stamina… But I did miss it…

Apart from the health benefits, I found it very entertaining… You get to meet so many characters and you get to observe them at pretty close quarters! (more of that in future blogs)

This post is about something else, totally! Like I said, I joined another gym last week to give fitness (and now weight reduction) another shot.

Here I am, feeling thrilled to be back, cycling away to glory. I didn’t even have time to look at the people around me, when a plump a little older lady(slight peter) walks up to me and says ‘Hi!’

And starts some conversation about my earring… How she’s been eyeing it from when I walked in and wanted to know where I’d got it. I gave her the details, between my puffing and panting… And she asked me “so when did u join this gym?’ ‘Yesterday’, I replied. “well, get out ASAP”, She said.

What?!!! Looking at my puzzled expression she informed me that the place had a bad reputation and how some woman there ‘solicits customers’ etc. She also said she’s planning to leave and rattled off some names of very nice gyms around…

I was flummoxed! What do I do now? This was the closest to the place where I have to wait everyday for two whole hours. I’m just making full use of that time, instead of sitting around, doing nothing.

Anyway I had a whole weekend to think. Now I’ve decided to stick with it, at least till my membership for 3 months is up… And I joined only after checking with two good friends who’ve been using it for the past year. And keep bumping into some more friends there too…

Maybe the lady has a personal vendetta with someone there. Or even if someone ‘solicits customers’, its her personal affair (literally!). I’m there for a purpose and as long as I don’t get any bad vibes from the place, I’m sticking to my fitness agenda…

And by the way, the plump lady was right next to me today, shouting at the instructors to reduce the volume of the dappankoothu song in the system!

2 Comments

  1. maami said,

    November 22, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    If wannabe Gym Girija knows the place is disreputable, what is she doing there? Pimping for women with solitaires? Ask her.
    P.S. Do you know where my darling hero Tarzan-Simbu works out?

  2. Harish Ramaswamy said,

    March 19, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    maami,

    simbu? ayayooo.
    why?

    i like her title though. gym girija. sounds fun. =p
    the mamis in my gym talk to me.
    why?
    cos nobody else cares about them.
    one of the girija’s came to me and braggggeed on about how she is going to her daater’s place in the Amarigaa, because she is going to deliver.

    and she didnt stop with just that.
    apparently, 6 months she will be there and 6 months the patti from that side will be there.

    Did i ask her all this? NO.
    did she stop? NOOOO.
    she told me what the sex of the baby was.
    a girl.
    and she has two girls it seems. and the daughter who delivered already has a girl.
    2 girls runs in their kudumbam.

    then, she was probably not gonna stop, but i just apdiye said yeah, nice! im gonna go finish off my cardio and walked off. pah.
    she smiled and said, po kanna!!

    WHY ARE THESE PEOPLE GIVEN ACCESS TO GYMS?

    🙂 They just don’t have anyone to talk to… So they look out for innocent victims like you!!


Leave a Reply

